top of page

[Confusing words] Another VS Other


Another VS Other

More examples of another:

  • One more person=friend: I am going to school with another friend.

  • One more person=coworker: I am going to work with another coworker.

  • One more glass: May I have another glass?

  • Extra amount=expresso x2: May I have another shot of expresso?

  • Extra amount=water x2: May I have another glass of water?


More examples of other:

  • More than one friend: I am going to school with other friends.

  • More than one coworker: I am going to work with other coworkers.

  • Additional glasses: May I have other glasses?

  • Different type of drinks: May I have other drinks?

  • Different type of flavors: May I taste other flavors?


What's the different between another VS other VS "the other"?

Another & Other are talking about GENERAL things. We use a / an / X.

  • Another: singular nouns

  • Other: plural nouns

"The other" is talking about SPECIFIC things. We use the.

  • Can be used for both singular & plural nouns


↘ Practice making your own sentences with "another", "other", and "the". Comment below!↙

322 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page