top of page

Difference between see, look, & watch



See: when an image comes to our eyes; without intent

  • I went to the grocery shop and saw one of my classmates there.


Look: to see something with intent and attention; often used with "at"

  • Jenny looked at the wine menu before calling the waiter to order a drink.


Watch: to look intensely at something (often something that is moving)

  • Kyle watched the plane take off.



More examples:


See:

  • I see Tim in the store.

  • I see a house.

  • I see a dog on the street.

  • I see a bottle of wine on the table.

Look (at):

  • I am looking at a painting. I really like the colors of this painting.

  • I am looking at a photo of a rabbit. The rabbit has long ears.

  • I am looking at a building. It has colorful windows.

  • I am looking at a monument. It was built a long time ago.

Watch:

  • Do you watch sports? / Yes, I love to watch basketball.

  • What are you doing? / I am watching a video (now).

  • I like to watch TV (television).

  • I am going to watch a (dance) performance tonight.

  • I am going to watch a concert tonight.

↘ Practice making your own sentences. Comment below!↙

206 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page