top of page

[English interview] Dos & Don'ts

Updated: Apr 7, 2020

How to ace your English job interview? Many of my students struggle with the most important part: having a professional introduction in English.

Having a professional introduction can help to make a good first impression at your job interview. Even if it is in English, your second language, make sure you talk about things that MATTER to the company. Think about...

  • Why should the company HIRE you?

  • Why are you the BEST FIT for the position?

  • How can you ADD VALUE to the company?

Here are some tips on how to market yourself to get your dream job!




Tips for your job interview:

  • Your introduction shows how you are the best fit for the position ↪ Do not: Make your introduction about your life timeline. I don't need to know how many siblings you have/your age/the schools you attended

  • Talk about personal traits that are relevant to the position ↪ Do not: Talk about personal information not relevant to the job

  • Talk about personal traits that are relevant to the position ↪ Do not: Talk about personal information not relevant to the job

  • Structure your answers with 3 main points to keep it focused ↪ Do not: Include a list of all of the strengths you have (there's only 10!)

  • Use your previous experiences as support examples ↪ Do not: Talk about your previous experiences without explaining why it matters

How to structure your introduction: Step 1: Think about the traits and skills needed for the position. What type of person best fits this position?

Example: If you are applying for a manager position, it will be important to be a good communicator and have leadership skills.

Step 2: Write down your introduction with THE MOST IMPORTANT 3 traits/skills: Example: Hi, I'm _________. If I could describe myself in 3 words, I would say I'm ______, _______, and ________. Step 3: Think about how your previous experiences supports or shows these traits/skills. Example: I'm an excellent communicator. In my previous job, as a product manager. I had to communicate between different functions/departments. I would understand the needs or viewpoints of each function and find the best solution for the problem. For example... (can go into details on which problem you solved because of you excellent communication skills)


Step 4: End the introduction with a strong conclusion.

Example: Therefore, that is why I am the best fit for this position. / Therefore, I believe I can bring value to this company.



I have a list of common interview questions I can help you with. Other than correcting your grammar, I help to structure your answers in a more persuasive way. (Ask me about it in class!)



↘ Creating a well-structured introduction may be challenging, but practice makes perfect! Try making your own with a shorter 30 second version. Comment below!↙

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page