top of page
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Vimeo Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon

[Frequency] How often do you...?

Updated: Oct 6, 2019

Here's one of the most common questions I ask students in class when we are talking about different topics:.

  • How often do you...?

We talk about adverbs of frequency quite often. Learn these words to make your speaking more specific and precise.


How often do you eat out?

  • I always eat out. I don't know how to cook.

  • I usually eat out. I am too busy to cook for myself.

  • I frequently eat out. I'm not good at cooking unless it's instant noodles.

  • I often eat out but if I'm too lazy to go out, I'll order in a pizza.

  • I sometimes eat out. I try to bring my own lunch to work everyday.

  • I occasionally eat out. I usually eat at home, but I go out on Fridays and the weekends.

  • I seldom eat out except for the occasional get-togethers with friends.

  • I never eat out. I like to cook my meals at home.

You can also use specific time for giving frequency:

  • I eat out once a day. (=NOT one time)

  • I eat out twice a week. (=NOT two times)

  • I eat out three times a month.

Common mistakes:

(X) one time

(O) once


(X) two times

(O) twice


We can also use "every" to show the things we do as a routine:

  • I eat out every two days. (= 1 time every 2 days)

  • I eat out every three weeks. (= 1 time every 3 weeks)

  • I eat out three times a month. (= 3 times 1 time a month)


You can also use:

  • I eat out everyday.

  • I eat out every weekend.

  • I eat out every Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday/Friday/Saturday/Sunday.

  • I eat out every week.


We can also use "time period":

  • daily: I need to take the tablets twice daily.

  • weekly: I do my weekly shopping on Thursday after work.

  • monthly: I pay my bill monthly.

  • annually (don't say yearly): I host a beach party annually.



↘ How often do you eat out? Comment below!↙

885 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2019 By Cindy. Proudly created by WIX.COM

  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page