top of page

How friends say Hi and Bye! Use slang words!

Updated: Mar 13, 2020



Slang words are words not found in the standard dictionary. However, it is used in conversations when people talk to each other causally.


When friends say hi, they say:

How friends say hi, here's some examples:

  • YO! Where do you want to go for dinner? I'm starving!

  • Hiya! How's work been treating you? Don't tell me you have been working overtime all week again.

  • Howdy! It's great to see you!

  • Hey Jen! How have you been?

  • What's up? How

  • Sup? How was the party last night?

  • How's it going? You been working out?

  • What's going on? How's your family doing?

  • What's new? I haven't seen you for a month!

  • What have you been up to? I haven't seen you in a while!

  • How are ya? Have you been going to the gym? You look buff!

  • What's crackin'? Any new updates?



When friends say goodbye, they say:

How friends say bye, here's some examples:

  • See ya next week! Don't be late!

  • Later! / Catch you later this week!

  • Peace out. I'm heading home.

  • I'm out! I can't keep my eyes opened for a minute. I'm beat (=I'm very tired).

  • I gotta take off. I need to wake up early tomorrow.

  • I gotta hit the road. It's past my curfew.

  • I gotta head out. Do you want to meet again this week?

  • See you later.

  • Talk to you later. I'm gonna go home.

  • See you soon. Maybe next week?

  • Take it easy. Don't be so hard on yourself.


To make conversations short, fast, and to the point, native speakers talk in slang.

How to use slang words in a sentence?

  • I gotta go home in five minutes.

  • Let's get outta here.

  • I’m gonna study for my final exam.

  • Wanna stay over for lunch?

  • You shoulda come to the party. It was so much fun.

  • I halta work out tonight. I'm gaining weight.

  • Gimme a minute. Let me grab my keys.

  • I needa head home before 11. I have a curfew.

  • I kinda thirsty. Let's go get a drink.

  • I dunno if I can hang out tomorrow night.


Want to learn how to speak like a native? Let me know and I'll give you more tips in class ; ) I have a series of lesson teaching you how!


Time for listening practice!


Listen to the BBC Talk on Slang:

  1. When do people tend to use slang?

  2. Is slang a bad thing? Do you use it a lot?

  3. Do you understand when people talk in slang?

  4. Why does slang have a bad reputation?

  5. Give some examples of slang expressions used to talk about drinking and being drunk.

  6. What's Cockney Rhyming Slang for 'money'?

  7. Write down 3 words that you learned from the talk and make a sentence with it


↘ Do you know more slang words? Comment below and practice making sentences! ↙


234 views0 comments

댓글


bottom of page