top of page

I'm bored VS I'm boring



What's the difference between bored VS boring? Look at the picture below

  • The girl is bored.

  • The book is boring.

  • The book is so boring that the girl is bored.


What's the difference between interested VS interesting

  • The girl is interested.

  • The book is interesting.


What's the difference between confused VS confusing

  • The girl is confused.

  • The book is confusing.


When do we use -ed VS -ing

-ed: used to describe how people feel

  • Examples: surprised / excited / confused

-ing: used to describe something that causes an emotion. It is the reason WHY someone is bored, excited, or confused

  • Examples: surprising / exciting / confusing


Common mistakes:

(O) I am bored. (= I am feeling bored and have nothing to do.)

(X) I am boring. (= I am someone who is NOT fun.)


(O) The book is boring. (= The book is not fun to read. It is making me feel bored.)

(X) The book is bored. (= The book is feeling bored, but books DON'T HAVE FEELINGS!)



Try these questions!

1. The movie is so ______ I feel asleep halfway through it. (boring / bored)

2. That's so ________ . I want to read the book too! (interesting / interested)

3. I'm so ________ for Chopper. He's going to Hawaii next week. (exciting / excited)


↘ Did you get the answers right? Comment below!↙

759 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 opmerking


Pochien Tsai
Pochien Tsai
16 jun. 2019

1. boring 2.interesting 3. excited

Like
bottom of page