top of page

How to count bread? Uncountable nouns



How to measure uncountable nouns?


First, know the difference between uncountable VS countable nouns

Countable nouns: can count using numbers

  • Singular: use "a" or "an"; 🐇= a rabbit / 🍎= an apple

  • Plural: use "s" after noun; 🐇🐇 = two rabbits / 🍎🍎 = 2 apples

  • How many?

Uncountable nouns: cannot count with numbers.

  • Singular: coffee / sugar / rice / water

  • has no plural form: DO NOT use "s"

  • How much?


How do we count uncountable nouns? Use measure words!

I'm thirsty. Can we buy one soda?

I'm thirsty. Can we buy a can of soda?


Remember to buy 2 soaps.

Remember to buy 2 bars of soap.


We don't have any eggs at home. Let's buy 12 eggs.

We don't have any eggs at home. Let's buy a dozen of eggs.


I want to have one bread for breakfast.

I want to have a slice of bread for breakfast.


I need my caffeine. I need to drink at least one coffee every morning.

I need my caffeine. I need to drink at least one cup of coffee every morning.


Do we need to buy one bread at the supermarket?

Do we need to buy a loaf of bread at the supermarket?


I have just bought one milk.

I have just bought a carton of milk.


Do you want one oats for breakfast?

Do you want a bowl of oats for breakfast?


Could I have one cake for dessert?

Could I have one piece of cake for dessert?


How much ice cream would you like?

I would like to have one ice cream.

How many scoops of ice cream would you like?

I would like to have a/one scoop of ice cream.


Would you like to have a grape?

Could I have one piece of cake for dessert?

↘ Do you know more uncountable nouns? Comment below! ↙

2,582 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page