top of page
Writer's pictureCiiindy English

[Travel English] Asking about Attractions


šŸ—£English ConversationšŸŒŽTraveling Post COVIDāœˆļø


Asking about attractions in the hotel šŸØšŸ™‹šŸ¾šŸ—£

Do you know how to ask about attractions when visiting a new city?


This is a listening practice so I did not put on subtitles but the full script is belowšŸ™‹šŸ¾šŸ‘‡šŸ¾


Tips to help you with your listening šŸ‘‚

1ļøāƒ£ Listen to the conversation once

2ļøāƒ£ Write down WHAT the conversation is about (1-2 sentences)

3ļøāƒ£ Listen again while following along with the full script.

ā–¶ļø With a red pen: circle words that are new to you

ā–¶ļø In blue pen: circle words that you did not recognize from listening




Transcript:

Traveler: Hi, Iā€™d like to ask about the attractions around here.

Hotel Receptionist: Sure, would you like some recommendations?

Traveler: Yes, please. Iā€™m wondering how should I start my sightseeing?

Hotel Receptionist: The Taipei 101 is always a good place to go.

Traveler: I saw the Taipei 101 on my last visit here. Can you recommend somewhere else, please?

Hotel Receptionist: Hmm. What other things are are you interested in?

Traveler: In my spare time, I really like human history and I love to go running.

Hotel Receptionist: Aha! Have you been to Chang Kai Shek Memorial Park? Well, Chang Kai Shek Memorial Park is a wonderful place to run. After (running) you can head inside to learn more about Taiwan's history. It's a great place to go.

Traveler: Great! That sounds like a plan. Thanks a lot.

Hotel Receptionist: I'm sure you're going to have a good time there. Is there anything else that you would like me to help you with?

Traveler: Yes, sorry, I've got another question. How do I get to the Chang Kai Shek Memorial Park. Can I walk there, or is there a MRT station close to it?

Hotel Receptionist: Yes, you can take the MRT there. You need to get off at the Chang Kai Shek Memorial Park station. It's around a 5-minute walk from there.

Traveler: Great and also, is there any good restaurants around? Iā€™m starving. I skipped breakfast this morning.

Hotel Receptionist: Oh, you skipped breakfast? That's a pity. I recommend you try Taiwanese breakfast. There's a place around the corner that sells "ShāobĒng yĆ³utiĆ”o" which is basically clay oven rolls with fried breadstick. Actually, you might find it still opened. It's opened until 12:30.

Traveler: Great, I'll check it out. Thanks a lot!


If you are interested in learning real-life English conversation, feel free to sign up for my online class! Sign up here.


Or check out my interactive book on Graphy for my English Travel Survival Guide. Including quizzes and explanations of travel phrases you need when traveling abroad: https://share.graphyapp.co/wQut


ā†˜Comment below where you would like to visit next. Tag a friend who loves traveling ā†™

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page