top of page
Writer's pictureCiiindy English

[Travel English] Checking in at the Airport

🗣English Conversation🌎Traveling Post COVID✈️ Airport Check-in ✈️🗣


This is a listening practice so I did not put on subtitles but the full script is below🙋🏾👇🏾


Tips to help you with your listening 👂

1️⃣ Listen to the conversation once

2️⃣ Write down WHAT the conversation is about (1-2 sentences)

3️⃣ Listen again while following along with the full script.

▶️ With a red pen: circle words that are new to you

▶️ In blue pen: circle words that you did not recognize from listening



Transcript for Airport Check-in:


(Cindy is at the check-in desk.)


Airport clerk: Good afternoon! Where are you flying to today?

Cindy: I'm flying to Hawaii.

Airport clerk: May I have your passport?


Cindy: Here you go.

Airport clerk: Are you checking any bags?

Cindy: Just this one.

Airport clerk: OK, have you left your bag unattended at any time?


Cindy: No.

Airport clerk: OK, please place your bag on the scale.

Cindy: I have a stopover in Osaka – do I need to pick up my luggage there?

Airport clerk: No, it’ll go straight through to Hawaii. Here is your boarding pass – your flight leaves from gate 15A and it’ll begin boarding at 5:20. Your seat number is 25B.


Cindy: Excuse me, can you say that again, please?


(Airport clerk repeats a little slower)


Airport clerk: Your luggage will go straight through to Hawaii. So you will not need to get it in Osaka. Here is your boarding pass and your flight leaves from gate 15A, It will begin boarding at 5:20. Your seat number is 25B.

Cindy: Is that an aisle seat?


Airport clerk: Yes, it is.


Cindy: Can I get a window seat, please?


Airport clerk: Let me take a look if we have any window seats available.


(A moment later.)


Airport clerk: Yes, we do have one available. Let me switch you to that one. Your seat number will be 30A. Ok, you're all set. Enjoy your flight. Cindy: Thank you so much.


--------------------------------------------


Hope you enjoyed this video :D


If you are interested in learning real-life English conversation, feel free to sign up for my online class! Sign up here.


Or check out my interactive book on Graphy for my English Travel Survival Guide. Including quizzes and explanations of travel phrases you need when traveling abroad: https://share.graphyapp.co/wQut


↘Comment below where you would like to visit next. Tag a friend who loves traveling ↙

תגובות


bottom of page